Free Book Online
The Engines of God


The Engines of God

2.4 (3961)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | The Engines of God.pdf | English
    Jack McDevitt(Author)
Many years ago humans made a discovery in the far reaches of the solar system - a huge statue of an alien creature, with a description that defied all efforts of translation. But except for a set of footprints on Jupiter's moon, there is no trace of the race that has left it behind.

The logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke. Stephen King Praise for The Engines of GodSplendid. Not since Arthur C. Clarke s Rendezvous with Rama has the discovery of artifacts of alien intelligence been treated so skillfully. Baltimore SunMcDevitt gives us interstellar archeology rendered with mystery, deftly turned ideas, echoing atmosphere, and steady tension. He delivers a compelling tale with a steady hand. Gregory BenfordMcDevitt is at his best award-winning style in this intelligent and wide-ranging novel. Kirkus Reviews""The logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke."--Stephen King

4.2 (6420)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 419 pages
  • Jack McDevitt(Author)
  • Ace Books (31 Dec. 1994)
  • English
  • 4
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy
Read online or download a free book: The Engines of God

Review Text

  • By Gadgeteer1066 on 12 September 2010

    The Engines of God is the first book in a series of six involving Priscilla 'Hutch' Hutchins as the main protagonist, albeit her role in the books changes over time, along with her career. I liked this, rather than having a hero and fixing them at a set point in time, she is able to develop and allows for other characters to come to the fore (and move on again afterwards). Having read all of them in a condensed period of time and in the right order, I can say that the Engines of God lays the foundation for what is to come in the later books in the series. That said,they are all totally stand-alone, but you do find out a little more along the way and the final book answers some of the bigger questions that might seem to have been left hanging in the earlier novels.As it is the first book in a series, the author has taken the time to set out and populate his universe and I liked the detail which he consistently applied across the novels. It was not done in a repetitive way and avoided the almost 'copy and paste' set paragraphs that some writers fall into. Like all of his books, I think you can divide them into two halves. The first is 'scene setting', 'getting ready', 'dealing with things' and generally taking the reader on a journey up to the top of a 'big dipper' roller coaster. It can be a little slow for those who are eager to leap ahead. But, equally, it is detailed, well written and engaging. As the first half comes to an end and you drop off the edge, rushing to the story's conclusion, it all falls into place and is well paced and keeps you turning the pages.Jack McDevitt is a very consistent writer and I believe that if you like one of his books, you will like them all. If you are going to read this series, I would suggest you try to keep them in sequence: The Engines of God (1994), Deepsix (2001), Chindi (2002), Omega (2003), Odyssey (2006), Cauldron (2007).

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Other Ebook